Explore the plantation life on Staten Island with a trip to the Seguine-Burke Mansion, an impressive Greek Revival structure purchased by James Seguine between 1780-1786. Seguine Avenue and Seguine Point in Prince’s Bay were named after this prosperous family, whose ancestors first settled on Staten Island about 1706. Located in Lemon Creek Park on the South Shore, the current structure was built by James’ grandson Joseph Seguine in 1840. Joseph played an important role in establishing the Staten Island Railroad Company and founded the Staten Island Oil and Candle-making Company. The current resident, George Burke, bought the home in 1981 from Elizabeth “Bess” Seguine Aug, who was the last Seguine to live there. Burke used his knowledge of restoration, brought the home back to life and also, established an equestrian center at the site. He donated the Seguine Mansion to the City of New York in 1989 and retains a life interest in the site.
Tours are available by appointment only. Please email: firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.